This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

All organic beings possess these eleven faculties

All organic beings, that is to say all living bodies, possess the eleven individual faculties, albeit in a greater or lesser degree of development, and in each these faculties are manifested in the organism by the eleven corresponding organs (avayavas, a name that is also applied to the subtle state). According to Shankaracharya, these beings can be divided into three classes according to their mode of reproduction. These are: 1) the viviparous, such as man and other mammals; 2) the oviparous, such as birds, reptiles, fish, and insects; 3) finally, the germiniparous, a group which includes both the lower animals and plants.[1] By lower animals it is meant primarily the mobile forms of life born in the water, while the latter refers chiefly to immobile forms born in the earth, although there are other passages in the Veda which elaborate on these ideas in minor ways.[2]

[1] Commentary on the Brahma-Sutras, III.1.20 and 21.

[2] See: Chhandogya Upanishad, I.1.2, V.6.2, VI.3.1, and VII.4.2; Aitareya Upanishad, V.3. In the latter, a fourth category of beings is mentioned, those born of damp heat, but this can be attached to the seed-born class already considered.

Share This