This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

Enumeration of the six darshanas

We are now prepared to enter into a discussion of the six darshanas, which form an integral part of the doctrine and stand over and above all the rest. We will deal with them in the order than they are usually listed, because this is not accidental and because, as pairs, they have certain affinities to one another. We remind the reader again to remove all notions of strife and sectarianism from his mind as he approaches these points of view, and to disregard any attempts to place a framework of chronological development on them. They must be viewed in simultaneity, and their historical elements as purely secondary and accidental. That said, the darshanas are: nyaya, vaisheshika, sankhya, yoga, mimansa, and vedanta. The first two can be thought of as proceeding analytically, while the remaining four are synthetic. Additionally, the last two–mimansa and vedanta–stand above the others as direct interpretations of the Veda, others being derivations of a more secondary nature. This has protected these two, more than the others, from the presence of heterodoxy.

Share This