This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

Subtle and gross elements

After ahankara the Sankhya describes five tanmatras or ‘subtle elementary determinations.’ These belong to the group described as ‘productive productions’ and are the principles of the five bhutas or sensible elements. The world tanmatra means ‘assignment.’ These subtle elements are called by the names of sensible qualities, even though they are themselves imperceptible, their qualities therefore becoming manifest through the bhutas. They are as follows: shabda (auditive), sparsha (tangible), rupa (visible), rasa (sapid), and gandha (olfactory). The gross elements are, in an order corresponding the that given for the tanmatras: Akasha (Ether), Vayu (Air), Tejas (Fire), Ap (Water), and Prithvi (Earth). From these all of corporeal manifestation is formed. The tanmatras and bhutas have a relationship like that of substance to essence.

Share This