This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

The Five Pillars

Islam’s gift to its followers is a character of specificity that is lacking in Christianity. Islam speaks on almost every area of life with a definiteness that is unusual to us and which is relished by Muslims, providing them with clear answers to many questions that, for Christians, are left vague and therefore susceptible to various interpretations as to what it means to actually conduct oneself as a Christian and what is required in order to actually be a Christian.

To summarize the Islamic teachings on how one is to live, we come to the Five Pillars: the confession, canonical prayer, the giving of charity, observance of Ramadan, and the pilgrimage. We will make brief comments on each of these below, but returning to each as necessary throughout later discussions.

Share This