This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

The Four Paths

We began with the Four Aryan Truths. We now find the Four Paths, and these are nothing but a fourfold division of the last of the Aryan Truths: “There is a path that leads from Suffering.” For the sake of greater clarity, we could also call these ‘stages’ of the same path.

First, there is the ‘conversion’ which implies the recognition of the Four Aryan Truths.  This conversion follows the preliminary step of following the Buddha, the Law, and the Order, and leads to freedom from the ego (Anatta), from doubt about the Buddha, and from trust in rites and ceremonies.

Second is the path of those who will only once more return to the world and will on that next birth attain Final Release. Here the converted individual becomes as free as possible from lust and resentment.

Third is the path of those who will never return to this world and will, in this present life, attain Release, for on this path the last remnants of lust and resentment are destroyed.

Fourth is the path of the Arahats, which is to say, the adepts. Such a saint is one freed from all desire for re-birth, in any world, and from ignorance:

“As a mother, even at the risk of her own life, protects her son, her only son, so let there be goodwill without measure among all beings. Let goodwill without measure prevail in the whole world, above, below, around, unstinted, unmixed with any feeling of differing or opposing interests. If a man remain steadfastly in this state of mind all the while he is awake, whether he be standing, walking, sitting, or lying down, then is come to pass the saying, ‘Even in this world holiness has been found.’”[1]

[1] Metta Sutta.

Share This