This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

The indryas or faculties of sensation and action

The term indrya is used to refer to the external faculties and really means ‘power.’ It is often used in an extended way to refer to both the factulty and the bodily organ to which it corresponds, which combine to form a single instrument either of knowledge or action, hence the division of buddhindriyas and karmendriyas. The five instruments of sensation (knowledge) are: the ears or hearing (shrotra), the skin or sense of touch (tvach), the eyes or sight (chakshus), the tongue or sense of taste (rasana), the nose or sense of smell (ghrana). Note that the order given is not arbitrary, but corresponds to the order of their development and that of the bhutas to which they correspond. The five instruments of action are: the organs of excretion (payu), the generative organs (upastha), the hands (pani), the feet (pada), and lastly the voice or organ of speech (vach, identical with the Latin vox).

Share This