This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

The Pali canon of Theravada Buddhism

The Pali canon corresponds to the Theravada school. This canon us used in South and Southeast Asia, namely Thailand, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Laos, and Cambodia.

This canon possesses the Tripitaka structure of the Vinaya/Sutta/Adhidhamma. Of most interest for us doctrinally is the second basket, the Sutta, which collects together all of the Nikayas. These are:

  1. Digha Nikaya.
  2. Majjhima Nikaya.
  3. Samyutta Nikaya.
  4. Anguttara Nikaya.
  5. Khuddaka Nikaya.

The fifth Nikaya (Khuddaka) is perhaps most well known due to the fact that, in the Pali canon, it contains both the Dhammapada (already mentioned) and the Jataka tales or ‘birth stories’ of the Buddha.

Share This