This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

The quadripartite division of time

In accordance with this law of involution, the traditional world developed for us an indispensable paradigm or ‘key’, vital to understanding the direction of history and man’s place within it. This cosmological key, which unlocks and brings into focus the past, present, and future, is the traditional doctrine of the Four Ages.

In accordance with the gradual process of dissolution, it is said that the world passes through four distinct Ages (also called eras, “generations”) each characteristically different than the one preceding it, and always accompanied by spiritual atrophy and distinct alterations in physical conditions governing earthly life. This four-fold division was often symbolized by metals of decreasing purity and resilience, usually listed as gold, silver, bronze, and iron. These are referred to then as the Golden Age, the Silver Age, the Bronze Age, and the Iron Age. We should point out also that these are not to be confused with the terminology used in modern anthropology and archeology, where descriptive names for historical periods are chosen based on tools or materials believed to have been discovered at certain moments, a purely secular convention that has nothing to do with metaphysics or the nature of historical progression.

Share This