This Dark Age

A manual for life in the modern world.

By Daniel Schwindt

This Dark Age is now available in paperback on Amazon. The print version is MUCH cleaner than this online version, which is largely unedited and has fallen by the wayside as the project has grown. If you’ve appreciated my writing, please consider leaving a review on the relevant paperback volumes. The print edition also includes new sections (Military History, War Psychology, Dogmatic Theology).

Volume 1 | Volume 2 | Volume 3| Volume 4 | Volume 5 | Volume 6

The three stages of the spiritual life

If we turn now to the three stages of the spiritual life commonly taught in the Church, we find that these can be superimposed visually onto this diagram, allowing us to merge the one schematic onto the other, helping to form a complete picture of what is in question, metaphysically and with respect to the Logos, at each stage.

The first, or purgative stage, is the move of the carnal man toward the created Logos, occurring after recognizing it as such; the second stage, perfection or illumination as it is called, is the process of integration with the created Logos, utilizing as we should expect practices that imitate Jesus and invoke the holy name; it is this integration which makes possible the union which is the third stage, whereby we come into contact with the Uncreated.

Share This